New & Improved JamesPurefoy.us

http://www.jamespurefoy.us

Thought it would be a good idea to post a little blog entry today since I have not gone live with the new JamesPurefoy.us. A few little kinks have cropped up after moving all of the files in to the main directory, but I’m fixing those issues right now. For whatever reason, 2 of the galleries didn’t make it. I’ve checked all of them now and as far as I can tell everything else made it alright. But if anyone happens to see this message and when browsing the new site notices anything wrong, please send me a message so I can fix it.

Prior to this site I was completely clueless about CSS, Spry and only moderately knowledgeable about HTML code. I was able to skimp by using the visual editing capabilities of Dreamweaver. But, switching to DW CS4 forced me (and I’m glad it did) to learn CSS and expand my overall knowledge of web design. Granted, this new knowledge, which I’m still gaining and struggling to master, is going to have me busy migrating all of the other sites I manage into CS4, which requires knowledge of CSS to use. I manage sites both personally and professionally, so wow, I sure do have a HUGE amount of work ahead of me. But JP.us has been my trial by fire, my practice site.

I might have decided to do one of my other sites first to practice on. But I felt it important to get JP.us up to par since James is going to have several films coming out and I wanted his site to be up to par with his costars. I feel very good about what I’ve achieved. I’m sure as I continue to learn I’ll be making tweaks and improvements to the site. But overall, it’s so much better. Better organized, better laid out, easier to navigate and not so cluttered up.

It is also nice that I had a bit of new content to include with the launch. I know I gave a deadline on Facebook for fans to submit new works (art, wallpapers, etc) but if you didn’t make that deadline please don’t hesitate to send along anything you do. This is a site for the fans, by the fans, and I love sharing all of the brilliant things you guys create and come up with. πŸ™‚

I hope to add some more gifs and audio clips as well. Nettie and I are WAY overdue for new videos. We have ideas, but we feel we need to finally (month’s late) get our personal UK trip video edited and posted before doing any fan videos. Since I’ve been so absorbed in the site changes for the past weeks (literally spending all of my free time on it) other things have taken a backseat. But now what it’s done, I’m hoping to get other things moving again.

Anyway, I’ve rambled enough here. Hope everyone enjoys the new site and thanks to all of you for your wonderful support!! ❀

One Response

  1. Ohhh, and I updated links on Myspace, but man, what a headache that is! Can’t be entirely sure I got them all until I remove the original folders in a month, but will be sure to check back there at that point. Was very happy to see YouTube restored the audio for our Blackbeard: Ace of Spades video! YAY! πŸ˜€

Comments are closed.

